## Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Ref. No.: . 45. 5/ 3258

Dated: 31-12-19

Minutes of 11<sup>th</sup> meeting of Board of Studies of Computer Science and Engineering Department held on 26.12.2019 at 11:00 am in the Committee Room, GNDEC, Ludhiana.

The following persons were present:

- 1. Dr. Parminder Singh, Professor & Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, GNDEC, Ludhiana (Chairman)
- 2. Prof. Amanprect Singh Brar, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, GNDEC, Ludhiana (Member)
- 3. Prof. Amandeep Kaur Sohal, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, GNDEC, Ludhiana (Member)
- 4. Dr. Sumeet Kaur Sehra, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, GNDEC, Ludhiana (Member)
- 5. Dr. Vivek Thapar, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, GNDEC, Ludhiana (Member)
- 6. Mr. Rinku Garg, Senior Technical Lead, Fidelity Information Services India Pvt. Ltd., Chandigarh (Member)
- 7. Mr. Ravi Kumar, Assistant Professor, Department of CSE, Atal Bihari Vajpayee Govt. Institute of Engineering and Technology, Pragati Nagar, District Shimla. (Member)
- 8. Dr. Sukhwinder Singh, Professor, UIET, Panjab University, Chandigarh (Member)
- 9. Dr. Anil Kumar Verma, Professor, Dept. of CSE, Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala. (External Expert)
- 10. Dr. Narwant Singh Grewal, Nominee, Dean Academics, GNDEC, Ludhiana.
- 11. Prof. Gagandeep Singh Sodhi, Training and Placement officer, GNDEC, Ludhiana.
- 12. Dr. H.S. Rai, Controller of Examination, GNDEC, Ludhiana.

The meeting started with welcome address by chairman BOS, and the already circulated agenda was put up for discussion. Following decisions were taken unanimously:

Dr. Parmider Singh

Er. Anvabarect Singh Bran

Er. Amandeep Kaur Sohal

Dr. Sumo Kaur Schra

Dr. Vivek Thapar

Dr. H.S. Rai

Dr. Narwan Singh Grewal

Pf. Gagandeep Singh Sodhi

Dr. Sukhwinder Singh

Dr. Anil Kumar Verma

Mr. Rinku Garg

Mr. Kavi Kumar

ar ar all with tarnis

## Agenda Item 1

Discussion about study scheme 2018 of B.Tech. Computer Science and Engineering applicable to students of 2018 admission batch onwards and to finalise study scheme of 5<sup>th</sup> to 8<sup>th</sup> semester.

Approved

The following suggestions were made:

- 1. Artificial Intelligence Lab (2 hours) should be introduced in sixth semester and Compiler Design Lab should be reduced to two hours.
- 2. Introductory MOOC course for students to properly harmonise with classroom teaching.
- 3. Effort should be made to integrate module in syllabus that should be handled by industry person.
- 4. Effort should be made to include industry people in project evaluation and project evaluation should be exhaustive.
- 5. The syllabus of data science should incorporate content of machine learning algorithms (classification, regression etc.) and data visualization.
- 6. Application related subjects should be suggested to other departments to be offered to Computer science students.

7. Subjects like Data Structures, Computer Networks, Operating Systems, and Database Management System should be offered as open elective to other departments

Dr. Parmind r ingh

Er. Ammer Singh Brar

Er. Amandeep Kaur Sohal

Dr. Sume Raur Sehra

Dr. Vivek Thapar

Dr. H.S. Rai

Dr. Narwant Singh Grewal

Pf. Gagar eep Singh Sodhi

Dr. Sukhwinder Singh

Dr. Anil Kumar Verma

Mr. Rinau Garg

Mr. Ravi kamar

and Lable Conditions

Further, Committee authorize the BOS chairman for further changes if required.

## Agenda Item 2

Discussion about subjects to be offered through MOOCs for minor degree in Computer Science and Engineering.

Approved

The MOOC's courses to be offered should be from the complete list.

The following suggestions were made:

 Atleast, three MOOC courses of 12 credits should be offered to students for Minor Degree

## **Agenda Item 3**

Discussion about courses to be offered through MOOC for Honour degree.

Approved

# Agenda Item 4

Discussion about syllabus of subjects of 2<sup>nd</sup> semester onwards of M.Tech. Computer Science and Engineering study scheme 2019.

The following suggestions were made:

Dr. Parmidde Singh

Er. Amanbre Singh Brar

Er. Amando aur Soha

Dr. Sumeet Caur Schra

Dr. Vivek Thapar

Dr. H.S. Rai

Dr. Narwant Singh Grewal

Pf. Gazandeep Singh Sodhi

Dr. Sukhwinder Singh

Dr. Anil Kumar Verma

Mr. Rinku Garg

Mr. Ravi Kumar

- 1. Effort should be made for M.Tech. internship in industry from 3rd semester onwards.
- 2. Syllabus of optimization techniques need to be reformulated as it is overlapping with soft computing syllabus.
- 3. The list of open elective subjects should be finalized after taking input from other departments.

Further, Committee authorize the BOS chairman for further changes if required.

### Agenda Item 5

## Approval of syllabus of courses of Ph.d. Computer Sc. & Engg.

#### **Approved**

- 1. The list of subjects has to be appended based upon the research areas of the students from time to time.
- 2. The syllabus content should include the unit on current trends in the concerned subject.

Further, Committee authorize the BOS chairman for further changes if required.

# Agenda Item 6

Discussion about start of new PG Diploma course in the department.

Dr. Parminoer Singh

Er. Amanpicer Singh Brar

Fr. Amandeep Kaur Sohal

Dr. Sumeet Kaur Sehra

Dr. Vivek Thapar

Dr HS Rai

Dr. Narwant Singh Grewal

Pf. Gagandeep Singh Sodhi

Dr. Sukhwinder Sing

Dr. Anil Kumar Verma

Mr. Rinku Garg

Mr. Ravi Kumar

## $\Lambda$ pproved

- 1. It should be introduced in collaboration with the industry.
- 2. The course should be based on machine learning and data analytics.
- 3. The course must include the subject of Statistics.

Further, Committee authorize the BOS chairman for further changes if required.

## Agenda Item 7

Any other item with permission of the Chair.

Dr. Parminder Singh

Er. Amanoree Singh Bran

Er. Amandeep Kaur Sohal

Dr. Sumeet Kaur Sehra

Dr. Vivek Thapar

Dr. H.S. Rai

Dr. Narwant Singh Grewal

Pf. Gagan cep Singh Sodhi

Dr. Sukhwinder Sinoh

Dr. Anil Kumar Verma

Mr. Rhiku Garg

Mr. Ravi Kumar